Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Fat Smashing

Fat Smashing

Have you heard of the Fat Smash Diet? It's designed by Ian K. Smith, MD. He is the guy who does the Celebrity Fit Club. It's not a quick fix diet. It's a way of eating differently. You focus on eating foods that are healthy and filling and you combine this with exercise. It's nothing new. Calories In vs Calories Out. Just cut out the junk, eat well, and exercise. Simple right? His approach is separated into 4 phases.

Phase 1- "Detox" (9 days)
In the first phase of the Fat Smash Diet, food choices should be eaten raw, grilled or steamed. So here's the list of authorized foods for the first nine days. Basically, if it's not on here, you can't have it.

Authorized foods:
-Fruit in any quantity
-Veggies in any quantity except:
-No white potatoes
-No avocados
-Protein sources:
-Brown rice, two cups of cooked rice per day
-Skim milk, two cups per day
-Oatmeal, one cup per day
-Herbs and spices
-Low fat yogurt, 6 oz., two times per day
-Egg whites, Four cups per day
-Herbal tea, two cups per day
-Low fat dressing, No more than three tablespoons per salad
-Low fat virgin olive oil, one or two teaspoons if grilling veggies.

Phase 2- Foundation (3 weeks)
In this phase you continue to eat phase 1 foods and also introduce the following foods:
Foods allowed in limited quantities in this phase include avocado, lean meats, seafood, whole egg, cheese, a variety of whole-grain cereals, granulated sugar, butter, fat-free mayo, coffee (10 ounces a day), fruit juice, diet soda, lemonade, and club soda. Continue to eat 4-5 meals a day.

Phase 3- Construction (4 weeks)
In this phase you eat the same foods as phase I & 2 except you will reintroduce whole wheat pasta and bread, increase the amounts of protein, adds fat free mayo & peanut butter, 2 whole eggs, 3 cups of low fat milk now & 1.3 oz of low fat/fat free cheese, 2 cups of freshly squeezed juice & whole grains bread 4 slices a day, 1 cup of pasta and 1 desert serving per day.

Phase 4- The Temple (for life)
The Temple is the final stage and one that the author promises will last a lifetime. In the phase wine, beer, pizza, and potatoes are now included, accompanying the guiding principles of exercise, portion control, not skipping meals, and eating four to five times daily.

The Fat Smash Diet is designed to change your relationship with food and get you hooked on regular physical activity for the rest of your life. At the end of the 90-day period, you should be making better food choices, eating fewer calories, exercising regularly, and losing weight.

During the detox phase, cravings are suppose to be smashed, and the nourishing power of fruits and vegetables reintroduced to your diet.

So, here is what I ate today:

Breakfast: Oatmeal

Snack: Banana

Late Lunch: Salad w/ cucumbers, tomatoes, & mushrooms.

Dinner: Brown rice w/ steamed green beans. Strawberry yogurt.

I know I didn't space things correctly but I didn't get to the grocery store until after work. Tomorrow should be better.

No comments:

Post a Comment